Investment and Innovation Catalyst Hubert Zajicek named Bio North Texas 2020 Dennis K. Stone Award Recipient
Award to be presented at the Sixth Annual iC3® Life Science Summit on November 5th, 6th 2020

DALLAS, TEXAS, Oct 26, 2020 /PRNewswire/ -- Bio North Texas Foundation, the trade association representing the life sciences industry in North Texas, announced that Dr. Hubert Zajicek, investment and innovation catalyst, is the recipient of the 2020 Dennis K. Stone Award which recognizes an individual for his/her contributions to improving quality of life. Dr Hubert Zajicek is co-founder, partner and CEO of Health Wildcatters,a top-ranked seed stage healthcare fund and accelerator in Dallas, TX that has invested in over 70 healthcare startups which have attracted over $100M in capital. Most recently he founded the 501(c)3 non-profit “Health Hacking Crisis Network” that has helped with critical needs during the Covid crisis.

Prior to forming Health Wildcatters, he was managing director of medical technology at the North Texas Enterprise Center for Medical Technology (NTEC), a state-of-the-art facility which included roughly 10,000 SF of lab space. During his tenure he created MedVentures, the Southwest’s largest medical technology investment conference, whose presenting companies raised a combined $274M in funding.

Prior to NTEC he was on faculty at UT Southwestern Medical Center where he was an NIH-funded Principal Investigator where his area of research included Nephrology and Cell Biology.

“Dr Zajicek’s focus on providing mentorship, capital, and guidance to early stage healthcare companies has directly contributed to North Texas being recognized internationally for its growing life sciences industry,” said Jorge Varela CEO of Bio North Texas. “His efforts have resulted in companies and talent relocating to this area and in significant startup funding.”

I am very honored to have been chosen for the Dennis K. Stone Award this year,” said Dr. Hubert Zajicek. “The list of previous recipients is very impressive, and I have had the good fortune to have met or worked with each of the recipients over the course of my career. The recognition is especially touching, as Dennis Stone was one the first people with whom I discussed a career move out of academia while I was still on faculty at UT Southwestern. I would not have been in the position to receive this award were it not for the generous support of Dennis and others like him who helped me find my true calling."

The award will be presented on Friday November 6th at the Annual iC3® Life Science Summit to be held virtually due to CoVid on November 5th & 6th, 2020 

About the Dennis K. Stone Award

The Dennis K. Stone Award is presented annually by Bio North Texas Foundation to an individual who has positively affected quality of life by raising awareness and funds for life science research, who has impacted innovation to bring discoveries to commercial relevance, and who has given back to their community and those in the scientific field as a supporter, mentor, leader, or educator. Past recipients are Phil Ralston, Dennis K. Stone, Lyda Hill, Darlene Boudreaux, and Paul Dorman.

About Bio North Texas Foundation

Bio North Texas believes that a robust life sciences community in North Texas contributes to the improvement of lives in our community manifested not only in healthier communities but in economic growth through more jobs and commerce. The 501(c)3 organization works to build a strong life sciences community through educational programming, networking and collaboration opportunities, and by being the voice and champion for the North Texas life sciences community.